Non-man-of-action

Milton Glaser, cover for Confessions of Zeno by Italo Svevo (Vintage, date unknown)

Scan from ajourneyroundmyskull.blogspot.com

Now that I’ve read that Italian writer Svevo is the ‘chronicler of the modern non-man-of-action, the fantasist, the anti-hero’ whose characters are ‘adept at pyschoanalysing themselves..not good at succeeding at what they most desire: writing’¹, and I undoubtedly relate as a fellow modern non-man-of-action, I must seek out his novel “Confessions of Zeno“, from 1923. These are in the form of memoirs kept at the insistence of the character’s psychiatrist. I just found the complete text online, but in Italian, which google doesn’t translate very convincingly – amazing that it has a go though.

Thanks for the prompter to Will of A Journey around my Skull, a blog for which I urge anyone’s immediate attention who is remotely interested in esoteric literature and hard-to-find book illustrations. Seriously amazing quantity and quality of fabulously strange 20th Century modernist inflected graphics, the range and unknownness makes me gasp. I come from a bookish family, but this man keeps producing more and more off-the-beaten-track classics. I wish I wasn’t such a grindingly slow reader.

¹Martin Seymour-Smith: Guide to Modern World Literature

This entry was posted in chat and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

