Cloning around

At last the band met again (4/5s anyway), for another proper studio rehearsal (now we are inducting a drummer), and one more teetering step back to gigging and potential sorta fame. The old fav “Where I Work” got a tweak, and I debutted my words for a brand new song “Meet my Clone“. This is the first new song I’ve finished in over 3 years – let’s hope it’s not a flash in the pan. It’s also my first collaboration with Rob the guitarist.

Found a scruffy old scrap of paper with a measly 6 bars of badly written score, I must have written at least 20 years ago. Insignificant in itself, but I was curious to hear how it sounded, and it being the 21st Century now, where you can find almost anything on the hypersharewaremarket that is Goggle, I picked up a demo of Melody Assistant and quickly found out how to enter notes on a stave and play them back. Ok, so it’s not Sibelius, which I believe is top of the market for that sort of thing, where you end up with a neat stack of printed scores ready to hand out to the orchestra – but for someone of my titchy talents this looks a good place to start. Oh dear, it’s got me interested now…

Even the most powerful score software presumably would have a fit over some of those beautiful visualisations by the likes of Stockhausen, Cage, Cornelius Cardew and from George Crumb (pic from Uni. of Pennsylvania almanac). I’m pretty sure there’s a big coffee table art book on amazing music scores, but I cannot track it down. And yes, at least some of the music these scores represent is beautiful and brilliant stuff.

This entry was posted in chat. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

