Daily Dosage

[Recently posted on my Elbowroom blog]

I am contemplating a create-a-day project, and for this in my mind I’m really thankful to fellow blogger Andrea. She is thinking of creating and publishing a doodle a day over next year, and if you’re familiar with her artwork (here or here), you will probably agree that’s a very interesting prospect.

For my part, I’m tempted to follow suit, and parallel with my own doodle-a-day. I have to declare a previous aborted effort 8 years ago, though it was private & unpublished being pre-blog days. More about how this went below. From my journal at the time:

“…the thought hit me quite hard & joyfully that I should start enacting a daily doodle/drawing diary whatever…not on any grand conceptual scheme, but just to let out something – make me draw regularly again….I feel excited by a new series, just to see how it will evolve (or not). Each day’s drawing can be as simple or complex, as abstract or figurative, as it is…Un-related to the previous, referential, or actually several in a series. No regular size paper, doesn’t even have to be on paper – could be caught anywhere, anytime on anything – as long as beforehand you acknowledge that this is it!
…the pictures shouldn’t be intended for any person, the public, posterity, myself – they should just emerge, be given existence…
…Whether or not I can keep that up remains to be seen, but once I start it rolling, I feel a surge of new keenness, even urgency, so I fancy I will be buoyed along by that. Also, to be remembered, especially at those times the day has been full, tiring & the last thing you feel like doing is sitting down & drawing – remember that you can take as short or as long as you like, it can be as simple or complex as you want – maybe even really minimal.” 7/8/02

If you have read this far, and haven’t skipped down already, you should be avid for some evidence of results. For Elbowroom regulars, some of these might ring a bell! My daily drawing started 8 August 2002 – here are some early ones (basically those I kept):



8 Aug, 9..11..14,15,16,17..19..22..24,25,26..29..31..3 Sept

The series was humanely put down in Feb 2003, so I kept it going for about half a year. Here are some highlights, some of them digitally enhanced:

Last word. Will I try this again? I’m not sure, but I’m toying with the idea of doing a sound/music doodle a day, instead of visuals. I would need to make sure that my recording system is all set up and in practice before hand. I already have free recording software and a handy microphone/interface gadget. That’s rudimentary, but it would do for doodles.

WTF – I should go for it!

This entry was posted in creativity and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

