Writing about artists

I have long been meaning to start a series of jottings about artists that interest and inspire me, or that intrigue and bamboozle me. Primarily visual artists, especially Modernists and contemporaries. Sometimes it’s their whole body of work that I appreciate, sometimes their methods or philosophy more than their results, perhaps just a couple of stirring soundbites, or even a sole painting or sculpture that excites me. I want to pay homage, or just throw a nod of recognition to those that have given me years of deep inspiration, as well as recent finds which seem to already resonate. My intended starting point has always been Picasso – other early loves are Van Gogh, Hieronymous Bosch and Rene Magritte. Pablo is slowing me down, because he is just so hard to write about – but I’m not changing my mind – him first or I don’t go ahead. (Update: One last read through and I’m there)
Maurizio Cattelan in Picasso mask begging outside MOMA

This entry was posted in art, chat. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Writing about artists

  1. ian russell says:

    Start big. With Picasso!

  2. johnnynorms says:

    It turned into a 3000 word essay…

  3. ian russell says:

    …just post three of his pictures, then?

  4. johnnynorms says:

    Very good! That would have been so much easier…

  5. johnnynorms says:

    I wonder if any words are worth a thousand pictures.

  6. ian russell says:

    “here’s a tenner” would do for mine though I don’t think I’ve got to a thousand yet.

Leave a Reply

